Author Topic: Touch and Go / Butthole Surfers dispute  (Read 6603 times)

yesno

• Space Champion!
Touch and Go / Butthole Surfers dispute
« on: September 30, 2011, 12:41:00 PM »
I'm not sure I quite understand the vitriol against Gibby Haines in this. 

This is no doubt because I'm a lawyer, and the Butthole Surfers side was basically unassailable legally.  (They had a contract with Touch and Go where the Buttholes licensed their works to T&G for a 50/50 profit split, but because there was no specified length to the contract, bands were free to walk away.  You don't hold people to a contract *forever* unless the contract is really really clear.)

Now, this is no doubt a case where the band is a bunch of assholes and the label didn't do anything wrong.  That said, in the scheme of things labels have usually been the bad guys and bands the victims, so in cases where a band wants to walk away from a label (and take its back catalog with it) it should be able to.

Christina

• Administrator
  • Space Champion!
Re: Touch and Go / Butthole Surfers dispute
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2011, 02:32:42 PM »
The Touch 'n Go roster both past and present is unholy, it's true. However, I am pro-BHS on this one too. Handshake contracts may have seemed like an awesome idea all those years ago, but the Surfers had the right to approach T&G to make a change to that original agreement. And they had the right to protect their interests. T&G claiming that they owned the copyrights to the catalog doesn't sound right esp in light of said handshake agreement - a 50/50 one I think is what was agreed to.
Remember how he couldn't stop his leg?

buffcoat

• Space Champion!
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2011, 02:35:20 PM »
I always side with management.
I really don't appreciate your sarcastic, anti-comedy tone, Bro!

JonFromMaplewood

• Space Champion!
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2011, 03:04:06 PM »
I always side with management.

I always side with this guy.